Pipe Dreams

As somewhat tedious work is ensuing on the jacket (I’m experimenting a lot, to see how reasonably close I can get to the picture) I’ve taken comfort of late in little pipe dreams; sewing fancies that I would gladly love to try. And since their coming into being depends on so many variables that they may never happen, I still think they deserve a fixed position. So, if you would care to pull up a comfy chair and a mug of hot chocolate and join me 🙂 …

A practical option, that I’ve been thinking a lot of is a knitted sweater. I could probably pull it off, if I could grab hold of bucket loads of patience.Easy Knitting Patterns - Shawl Collar Cardigan Sweater Knitting PatternAnd then there’s this dress. I don’t know how I would recreate it, but it’s just so pretty. I like the hat too.Magdorable!: Christian Dior And, something I’ve been wanting to do for a while, a quilt. I’ve made small ones before, but never a ‘real’ put-on-a-bed quilt. If I started now, I could probably have it ready for next winter! 🙂 My favorite square is the top left.Cutting instructions are for one block.  cut one 3" square - center   cut four 1-3/4" squares - corners   cut four 1-3/4" x 3" rectangles - sides  Square block to 5-1/2                                                                         (all images via Etsy and Pinterest)

But these really are all pipe dreams, as I have many more practical and necessary things to finish – altering a skirt and stretching my pattern by making a pair of summer shorts are all up there. But, it does feel good to sort out and organize imaginary projects; after all, they just might materialize!

Well, I must get back to figuring out collars and buttonholes and belts. I’m very glad that I finished the test run, it made me think of a lot of things I need to rework. I’m getting so excited about finally finishing the suit!

2 thoughts on “Pipe Dreams

Leave a Reply

