Tweed

tweedtweed 22                                                                                                               The tweed is here. All three yards, which will hopefully be enough. It’s more brown than I thought it would be, but that’s fine. I’ve been doing some research into the tweed, and it’s been very interesting.

The name comes either from the River Tweed, in Scotland (where the fabric originated) or from the misspelling of the word tweel. In the mid 1800s, tweed was popularized by estate owners, who favored its sturdy qualities for hunting, and it was often woven so as to blend in with the land around the estate. Tweed remains a popular choice for casual outerwear. (source)

The pattern from historicallypatterns arrived too, and I’m finding that it’s a bit different from modern day patterns, at least in instructions. Doing mock-ups of everything may help, as I have no intention of ruining my tweed straight off. 🙂

pattern (2)

4 thoughts on “Tweed

  1. Hey Mary! I found your blog through your comment on my Palazzo pants. What a fun adventure in sewing you have laid out for yourself. I have always dreamt of making myself a vintage style suit, but have yet to do so… someday! I look forward to seeing your progress!

  2. Tweed is a perpetually favourite fabric of mine. I wish I owned more if it actually, come to think of it. My favourite tweed garment I’ve ever owned (and still happily own) is a very pretty late 40s/50s coral pink double breasted tweed skirt suit that fits me like a glove (a true rarity with suits for me).

    Happy sewing with your own tweed suit. That’s a beautiful pattern and I’m excited to find out how this project turns out for you, dear gal.

    ♥ Jessica

    • Oh your suit sounds lovely!
      I’ve never come across tweed till now, but I already love the feel of it.
      Thank you for your comment, and the glove advice! : )

Leave a Reply

